Month: November 2012

  • trek post

    Sooooo last night I went to the TNG event in the theater, and I DRESSED UP THIS TIME. sort of. I got some clothes together that I already own, because actual star trek uniforms are expensive. I think I did a pretty good job of faking my outfit though. I WAS A SCIENCE OFFICER :D

    IMG_4215

    IMG_4212

    they showed a cast interview between the episodes, and I realized that LeVar Burton is quite eloquent. I woke up this morning with this song in my head.

    gee, I wonder how that got there.

    YAY STAR TREK

    The_Enterprise_D_by_radarlove413

    also, here is the best video on the internet. last night when the doorbell sound went off on the show, I was reminded of this song.

  • who freaked the greek?

    I think it was…JOY!

    joyfreakedgreek

    or maybe…it was me!

    pitcherfreakedgreek2

    either way, greek is freaked. poor greek.

    and that was my response to the freaked greek challenge, posted by @greekphysique

  • Pie Post

    thanksgiving was pretty great. I had so much good food. Check out all these pies we had.

    IMG_4186

    The pies were lemon meringue, chocolate and peanut butter, pecan, buttermilk, and cherry. I had a slice out of 3 of them. Guess which ones I chose!

  • which one?

    do you prefer chocolate or vanilla?

    I am a vanilla girl. And people sometimes say vanilla is boring. But I think it is delicious and just as flavorful. What do you think?

    I feel like this post needs a photo, otherwise it is too bland. I give you a ferris wheel.

    IMG_3767

  • afternoon tea time!

    time for my afternoon tea! it is earl grey today, like most days. I love that stuff. I saw the new James Bond movie last night, and earl grey was mentioned. It made me happy.

    11.21.2012

    I have started drinking hot tea right after lunch. It used to seem weird. I have always always thought of lunch as a cold drink meal. But I am liking this hot tea after lunch thing. There is something nice about it, and I can’t quite put my finger on it. It just feels great. Part of that is probably that the tea keeps me warm. I usually feel cold after lunch, and drinking something hot helps. yay hot tea!

  • super trash bag ray ray

    @Under_the_Ghillie recently gave me some fashion advice. He told me about how cheap, warm, and fashionable burlap sacks are. Now, I don’t have any burlap sacks, but I do have trash bags. See how I wore it below.

    Picture 007

    This trash bag thing is good for all sorts of things, such as riding around on the superrayraymobile

    I think I am onto something here. It even offers protection against oncoming traffic! watch as I escape death, thanks to my magical trash cape.

    I thank The Doug™ for his hand in my newly found favorite clothing item.

  • fruit

    Today I went to the store to buy fruit. I would love to get some blueberries, but they are super duper expensive now that they are out of season!

    credit to @quantumstorm for this question!
    If you could eat any fruit, regardless of price or season, which would you choose?

  • SIMSSSSSSS

    soooooo my computer is currently being repaired. i realized I still had it under warranty though, so that is pretty great. yay free computer repair! I wish I had it back here again though. it has been about 3 weeks since I got to play the sims and I am really getting antsy to play it again. it doesn’t help that everywhere I look there are ads for the sims 3 seasons.

    anyway….

    the hunt for grad school continues! deadlines are coming up fast. I hope I can get all my materials in on time.

    also, I want a new dress. and boots. and jacket.
    we’ll see if I can hold out until I have christmas money.

  • Are you the person you’d thought you’d be at this age? Why or why not?

    No. I thought I would be in grad school by now studying chemistry. I’m not in grad school but I am looking at programs for next year for chemical engineering. I never saw myself as an engineer, so it’s kind of weird.

    and why is this question from 2011? I couldn’t find any recent questions by Featured Questions.

       

    I just answered this Featured Question; you can answer it too!

  • Banana Bread

    I made some banana bread last night. It’s been a while since I did a cooking post, so I decided to take photos and document it all for a blog :) .

    The recipe is as follows:

    1 cup dark brown sugar
    1 cup applesauce
    3 or 4 bananas
    3 cups whole wheat flour
    1 tsp salt
    1.25 cups buttermilk
    2 tsp baking soda
    2 tsp baking powder
    2 tsp vanilla extract
    .5 cups chopped pecans

    This is actually a recipe my mom found online. We altered it a bit. For example, the recipe called for white sugar instead of brown and shortening instead of applesauce. But applesauce is neat little alternative. It still makes the bread moist, but with much less fat. The recipe also called for normal flour rather than whole wheat, but I like the whole wheat.

    I started by chopping the pecans. I love pecans.

    I then added the brown sugar, applesauce, and eggs in a large mixing bowl.

    Next up were the bananas! when you make banana bread, it’s best to use very ripe bananas. They should be ripe to the point where you would never dare to eat them. You have to catch them right before they rot, basically. This is because the banana flavor is very strong and will help flavor the bread. The bananas I have here aren’t actually as ripe as they really should be, but I didn’t want to wait around for them to ripen any longer :P

    I cut the bananas up and added them to the rest of the mix.

    I mixed all this together this before adding anything else. Next, I added the flour and the other ingredients.

    I mixed everything together for a while, until the bananas appeared to be fully mashed and evenly spread.

    Next, I prepared the loaf pans. Yay oil! After that I poured the mixture into the pans.

    I baked them for about an hour. The length of time really just depends on what shape pan you put them in. I also sprinkled some more pecans on the tops while they were in the oven.

    RESULT: DELICIOUSNESS

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories